Students Awarded Eisenhower Fellowships

June  10, 2011

Three Lake Washington Technical College (LWTC) students have been selected by the U.S. Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to receive a Dwight D. Eisenhower Community College Transportation Fellowship.

Charles Kaufmann, Tyson Dunn, and Frank Keyser each earned a $5,000 grant, including $1,000 for travel costs to Washington D.C., to support their LWTC education.

They are the first LWTC students to receive funding for use in applied research. LWTC is one of only five technical/community colleges in the United State that were selected by the FHWA to participate in the Eisenhower Community College program.

"This is a unique opportunity for these LWTC students," said Dr. Jun Ho, head of LWTC's Civil Engineering program and the group's advisor. We are excited about their achievements." Dr. Ho is a previous recipient of an Eisenhower Fellowship.

The Eisenhower Program awards fellowships to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines. The program advances the transportation workforce by attracting the brightest minds to the field through education, research, and workforce development.

The LWTC students will work on individual research projects and present their work at the 2012 Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board in Washington D.C., the largest transportation conference in the world.

Dunn's research is entitled, Evaluating the Application of Continuous Flow Intersections in Kirkland, WA; Kaufmann's is Using Landscaping as a Passive Cooling System to Improve the Life Span of Highway Materials; and Keyser's is Investigating the Use of Engineered Materials Arrestor System/Cellular Concrete to Truck Arrestor Beds.

If you are interested in learning more about the Eisenhower Fellowship program at LWTC, please contact Dr. Ho at (425) 739-8337 or