Students Rock State Hot Rod Hall of Fame

June  3, 2013

Contact: Jen Boyer, Media Relations
Lake Washington Institute of Technology
(425) 739-8236,

Five LWIT students won $2000.00 scholarships at the 2013 Washington State Hot Rod Hall of Fame in May - Jon Anderson, Melyssa Langbecker, Zoe Gorow, Thomas Benhofer and Curtis Montgomery "Monty" Hays.

In order to be considered for the honor, students much achieve a 3.0 GPA or better, receive a recommendation from their instructor, and write an essay expressing a commitment to their trade field of study.  The scholarship is to be used to support the student; primarily to fund tuition, books and tools.

More than 500 people attended the event, including LWIT Interim President Sharon McGavick and Washington State Governor Jay Inslee.

In addition to the winners, LWIT student Olga Plastino's art work was featured at the event. Proceeds from the all the art submissions went to support the Little Red School House charity.

Hot Rod Hof WinnersLeft to right: Melyssa Langbecker, Nolan Koreski (LWIT faculty), Zoe Gorow,
Jim Hicks (LWIT faculty),Thomas Benhofer, Dennis Depue (LWIT faculty),
Curtis Montgomery Hays, Dr. Sharon McGavick (LWIT interim president),
Gary Smith (LWIT faculty), Jonathan Anderson, and Don Dale (LWIT faculty).