Tuition and Fees

CONTACTS

  • Cashier's Office
  • (425) 739-8403
  • Kirkland Campus
    West Building, W201F
  • Hours
    Mon. 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
    Tues. 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
    Wed. 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
    Thurs. 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
    Fri. 9 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.

Lake Washington Institute of Technology has adopted Washington State Community College tuition rates as authorized by the legislature and the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC).

Payment Options

For your convenience Lake Washington Institute of Technology allows you to pay for your tuition and fees one of several ways. 

Online (Credit Card)

Pay with Visa, MasterCard, or American Express online using Student Toolbox.

Student Toolbox Login

Cashier's Office

Pay at the Cashier's Office located in the West Building, W201F, next to Enrollment Services. The cashier's office accepts cash, check, money order, debit and credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, or American Express).

By Mail

Mail check or money order, payable to Lake Washington Institute of Technology, to the Cashier at:

Cashier's Office

Lake Washington Institute of Technology
11605 132nd Avenue NE
Kirkland, Washington 98034-8506

Payment Plans

Sign up for the online Student Payment Plan to make monthly payments over the duration of the quarter. See below for more information. 

Payment Plans

The Student Payment Plan at Lake Washington Institute of Technology allows for payment on an installment plan. Payments can be made in monthly installments each academic quarter. Enrollment in the plan is done quarterly. The plan is not administered by the college. Instead, you will be signing a payment plan agreement with Nelnet Business Solutions, Inc., also known as FACTS and e-Cashier.

Costs Payed with the Payment Plan

The Student Payment Plan covers your total tuition and course fees that are charged at registration for every quarter you enroll in the program. Books, tools, and supplies cannot be paid with this plan.

There is a $15 per quarter enrollment fee due when you enroll in the plan.

Before You Sign Up for the Payment Plan
  • Go to Web Registration; select Registration for Credit Classes, even if you are already registered.
  • Select Register after entering your SID and PIN. If you need assistance with your PIN, contact Enrollment Services at (425) 739-8104. Select REGISTER/DROP CREDIT CLASSES.
  • Click the continue registration button at the bottom of the page.
  • You will see your current schedule and total balance owed or you may register at this time. When you are finished adding and dropping classes, select Finish.
  • Click the Sign Up for Student Payment Plan blue link on the left panel and you will be transferred to the Nelnet Business Solutions site.
  • Follow the on-screen instructions to enroll in the Student Payment Plan. First, you may want to watch the Tutorial.

e-Cashier Information & Enrollment Dates

Missed Payment or Insufficient Funds
  • If you do not have sufficient funds for the first scheduled payment, you will be assessed a $30 missed payment fee and the payment plan will be terminated. You will have the option to re-enroll in a new plan.
  • If you do not have sufficient funds for the second or third scheduled payment, you will be assessed a $30 missed payment fee and the payment will be reattempted in 15 days (either the 5th or 20th of the month). You and the college will be notified if this occurs.
  • If there are still insufficient funds after two attempts, the payment plan may be terminated. Your account will be assessed the missed payment fee for each time a payment is reattempted. Some banks may charge an NSF fee for these attempts.  Missed 2nd and/or 3rd payments will result in a block from future registration and services until the payment is made either at the cashier or after the next attempt by Nelnet.
  • If you have enrolled in a payment plan that requires a down payment and you do not have sufficient funds in your account at the time you enroll, the payment plan will be terminated.
  • If your plan is not paid in full by the end of the quarter you may be turned over to collections, with additional collection and legal fees.
  • You may pay the second or third payment to the cashier, but you must pay at least two (2) business days prior to the payment date. This will allow time to adjust or cancel your next payment should it be necessary.
Adding/Dropping Classes
  • If you add or change classes and your tuition and fees increase, your payment plan amount and payments will be increased on your next payment provided there are at least two business days before the next payment.
  • If you drop a class and your tuition and fees decrease, your payment plan amount will be adjusted accordingly on your next payment, provided that you drop within two (2) days of the scheduled payment so that we have time to make the adjustment.
  • Refunds for class withdrawal are based on full payment of tuition.  If you withdraw from any classes after the 100% refund period, you will still owe a balance on your payment plan. If you withdraw after all college refund dates have passed, you will still owe your entire payment plan balance. This is not a pay-as-you-go payment plan.  You are dividing your quarterly tuition due into monthly installments.
Updating Bank Account/Credit Card Information

You can update your banking or credit card information by going to Nelnet Business Solutions. You will need to setup an account during your first visit to the site. You can also call Nelnet Business Solutions at (800) 609-8056 to change your information.

Payment Confirmation
  • Verify that enough funds are available in your bank account the day prior to the withdrawal date.  Some bank cards have a daily withdrawal limit and may deny large tuition payments.  Check with your bank if you are using a debit card.
  • Be sure to add noreply@factsmgt.com to your list of email safe senders so that you don't miss a notification if a payment is missed.
  • Check your bank account monthly!  If a payment is missed and you think there was enough money in the account, call your bank first to find out if they denied the payment and why.
  • Students are responsible for payment confirmation!
Questions?

Contact Student Accounts via phone (425) 739-8184 or email. Nelnet Business Solutions' customer service phone is (800) 609-8056.

Tuition Waivers 

Lake Washington Institute of Technology offers Tuition Waivers in accordance with state of Washington law and policies authorized by the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges for several categories of students including but not limited to the following:

  • Children and spouses of totally disabled or POW/MIA or deceased eligible veterans or national guard members
  • Children of deceased or disabled law enforcement officers or firefighters
  • Adult Basic Education, English as a second language, and GED® preparation
  • Eligible veterans or National Guard members
  • High school completion
  • Senior citizens
  • State employees
  • Apprentice students
  • Running Start students
  • Some students with program requirements exceeding 18 quarterly credits
Washington State Employee Tuition Waiver

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive tuition, services and activities fees for Washington State Employees employed half-time or more. This waiver is also available to teachers and other certified instructional staff employed at public, common and vocational schools, holding or seeking a valid endorsement and assignment in a state-identified shortage area. Students will be enrolled on a space available basis.

Washington State Employee Tuition form

Veteran and National Guard Tuition Waiver

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive 25% of base tuition (excluding supplemental fees) for the following veteran classifications:

  • Active or reserve member of military, naval, or National Guard called to active duty. Served in active federal duty under either Title 10 or Title 32 of the U.S. Code in a war or conflict fought on foreign soil or in international waters, or served in support of those that were (serving on foreign soil or in international waters). If discharged, has received an honorable discharge.
  • Other Military or Naval Veterans qualify for the 25% waiver, even if they did not serve in a war or conflict fought on foreign soil or international waters, or served in support of those that were serving on foreign soil or international waters. Note: This section includes only military or naval veterans. It does not include National Guard Members.

Please provide a copy of your DD-214 to the Enrollment Service Office, West Building, W201.

Children or Spouse of a Disabled, Deceased, MIA, or POW Veteran Waiver

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive all tuition and fees for students whose parent or spouse was an eligible veteran or national guard member who 1) became totally disabled as defined in RCW 28B.15.385; or 2) who lost his or her life while engaged in active federal military or naval service; or 3) who is determined by the federal government to be a prisoner of war or missing in action.

CONDITIONS:  The child must be a Washington domiciliary between the age of seventeen and twenty-six to be eligible for this waiver. A child's marital status does not affect eligibility. A surviving spouse must be a Washington domiciliary. A surviving spouse has ten years from the date of the death, total disability, or federal determination of prisoner of war or missing in action status of the eligible veteran to receive this benefit. Upon remarriage, the surviving spouse is ineligible for the waiver of all tuition and fees. Waivers will not be awarded to students participating in fee-based courses or programs. If your qualifying parent or spouse is totally disabled, he or she must not have any earned income indicated on a federal tax return.

Tuition Reduction for Children or Spouse of a Disabled/Deceased/MIA/POW Veteran form

Children of Disabled Law Enforcement Officers and Firefighters

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive tuition and fees for the children or surviving spouses of deceased or disabled law enforcement officers or firefighters. The officers and firefighters must have died or become totally disabled in the line of duty while employed by a public law enforcement agency, full‐time or volunteer fire department. Documentation from the Department of Retirement Systems is required. Eligible children must begin their course of study within ten years of high school graduation.

Law Enforcement/Firefighter Waiver Form

Senior Citizens

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive 35% of tuition for students sixty years or older who enroll for credit. Students who enroll on an audit basis pay $5 per class (limited to two classes per quarter). Students will be enrolled on a space available basis and must be Washington state residents. 

Vocational students registering for more than 18 credits

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive the additional per credit operating fee charged to students in vocational preparatory programs registered for more than eighteen credits in a quarter. This waiver will be applied automatically by the college. Please allow at least 24 hours for the waiver to apply. Contact Enrollment Services, West Building, W201, if it has been over 24 hours (excluding weekends and holidays) and the waiver has not applied.

Nonresident Students (waiver of differential between resident and nonresident operating fee)

Non-resident students are students who are or have recently been residents of other states.

Lake Washington Institute of Technology will waive the additional operating fees charged to nonresident students. This means that non-resident students who are or have recently been residents of other states will pay the same amount in operating fees as Washington state residents. This waiver will be applied automatically by the college. Please allow at least 24 hours for the waiver to apply. Contact Enrollment Services, West Building, W201, if it has been over 24 hours (excluding weekends and holidays) and the waiver has not applied. 

Space Available Waivers

Many waivers are applied on a space available basis. As such students, students using this waiver will not be allowed to register for classes until after the third day of the quarter. Failure to comply with the instructions listed below will result in the student being responsible for full payment at the full per-credit tuition rate.

  • Go to the class of your choice on the first day of instruction. Let the instructor know that you are hoping to register under a space-available tuition waiver program. Ask the instructor if s/he feels that space "may" be available and, if so, request permission to visit the class until you can officially register (see "When to Register" below).

  • On the day you are permitted to register, have the instructor sign your Registration Form, giving you permission to enroll in the class, if there is space available.

  • Submit the Registration Form and the waiver form to Enrollment Services, West Building, W201, to complete the registration process. Tuition payment is due at the time of registration.

When to Register

Students using a space available waiver may register between the 4th and 10th instructional day of the quarter. Students who register prior to the 4th day or after the 10th day of the quarter forfeit their ability to use this waiver and will be responsible for full payment at the regular per credit tuition rate.  

The following are NOT eligible for space-available waivers:

  • Programs: All Baccalaureate degrees, Dental Hygiene, Nursing, Occupational Therapy Assistant, and Physical Therapist Assistant

  • Courses: Continuing Education, Fitness 100, and Fitness 105


A new waiver form must be completed each quarter that the waiver is used.

Waiver of non-resident tuition differential for refugees, their spouses and dependents

Community and technical colleges may waive all or a portion of the non-resident tuition differential for refugees, their spouse and dependents if the refugee is on parole status (allowed into the United States for humanitarian reasons); has received an immigrant visa or has applied for United States citizenship. Non-resident differential is the difference between resident tuition (operating and building fees) and non-resident tuition (operating and building fees).


A new waiver form must be completed each quarter that the waiver is used.

Waiver of non-resident tuition differential for certain higher education employees

Community and technical colleges may waive all or a portion of the non-resident differential for certain employees of higher education institutions, their spouses, and dependents. Higher education employees eligible for the waiver are:

  • Faculty member
  • Classified staff member
  • Administrative exempt employee

Employees must reside in the state and hold at least a half-time appointment
. Non-resident differential is the difference between resident tuition (operating and building fees) and non-resident tuition (operating and building fees).

A new waiver form must be completed each quarter that the waiver is used.

Payment Deadlines

When registering for courses you are obligated to pay the tuition and fees for those classes on the first day of the quarter. Students are encouraged to pay at the time of registration or to enroll in the student payment plan. If you enroll in a payment plan you must withdraw by the scheduled refund dates to receive the level of refunds outlined in the college's refund policy.

Students who enroll after the first day of the quarter must pay tuition and fees at the time of registration. Students with tuition and fees that have not been received by the end of the 5th day of the quarter are subject to being dropped from classes. Unpaid balances may be subject to collections and you may be responsible for any collection and legal fees.

See the Academic Calendar for all payment and refund dates

Refund Policy

Students who officially withdraw from classes within the refund period will be eligible for refunds according to the refund schedule. Refunds will be made according to the original payment method.

See the full Refund Policy for more details. 

Tax Information

Tax Credit Eligibility

The federal government allows you to claim tax credits for certain educational expenses through programs known as the Lifetime Learning tax credit and the American Opportunity tax credit.

After the end of each tax year, Lake Washington Institute of Technology sends IRS form 1098-T to students who may qualify for federal tax credits. The form lists out-of-pocket tuition and related expenses.

It is the responsibility of the student or other taxpayer to determine actual eligibility for tax credits. As a college, we cannot provide you with tax advice. You may wish to find out if you might be eligible by reading information on these websites:

You may also wish to consult the IRS or a tax accountant for help. Your own check receipts, credit card statements, or copies of receipts showing tuition and fees paid at the time you registered may support your claim.

Verifying the Amount of Your Qualifying Expenses

You can view your IRS form 1098-T statement [student ID and PIN required] online starting at the end of January each year.

However, the form that is printed and mailed to you may not reflect up-to-date information on student loans or other data.

Therefore, we strongly encourage you to double-check the dollar amount on the 1098-T form.

See the full Refund Policy for more details. 

2016-2017 Tuition & Fees

Credits Resident  *Non-Resident  Fee Waiver  Non-Resident  Resident Applied Baccalaureate  *Non-Resident Fee Waiver Applied Baccalaureate  Non-Resident Applied Baccalaureate 
1-10  118.07  131.50  294.78  216.10  229.53  614.36
11-18  66.12  66.83  73.31  25.17  25.88  25.88
Over 18  107.49  107.49  284.20  205.52  205.52  603.78
Credits  Tuition and Fees      
1  118.07  131.50  294.78  216.10  229.53  614.36
2  236.14  263.00  589.56  432.20  459.06  1,228.72
3  354.21  394.50  884.34  648.30  688.59  1,843.08
4  472.28  526.00 1,179.12  864.40  918.12  2,457.44
5  590.35 657.50 1,473.90  1,080.50  1,147.65  3,071.80
6 708.42 789.00  1,768.68  1,296.60  1,377.18  3,686.16
7  826.49  920.50  2,063.46  1,512.70  1,606.71  4,300.52
8  944.56  1,052.00  2,358.24  1,728.80  1,836.24  4,914.88
9  1,062.63 1,183.50  2,653.02  1,944.90  2,065.77  5,529.24
10  1,180.70  1,315.00  2,947.80  2,161.00  2,295.30  6,143.60
11  1,246.82  1,381.83  3,021.11  2,186.17  2,321.18  6,169.48
12  1,312.94  1,448.66  3,094.42  2,211.34  2,347.06  6,195.36
13  1,379.06  1,515.49  3,167.73  2,236.51  2,372.94  6,221.24
14  1,445.18  1,582.32  3,241.04  2,261.68  2,398.82  6,247.12
15  1,511.30  1,649.15  3,314.35  2,286.85  2,424.70  6,273.00
16  1,577.42  1,715.98  3,387.66  2,312.02  2,450.58  6,298.88
17  1,643.54  1,782.81  3,460.97  2,337.19  2,476.46  6,324.76
18  1,709.66  1,849.64  3,534.28  2,362.36  2,502.34  6,350.64
19  1,817.15  1,957.13  3,818.48  2,567.88  2,707.86  6,954.42
20  1,924.64  2,064.62  4,102.68  2,773.40  2,913.38  7,558.20
21  2,032.13  2,172.11  4,386.88  2,978.92  3,118.90  8,161.98
22  2,139.62  2,279.60  4,671.08  3,184.44  3,324.42  8,765.76
23  2,247.11  2,387.09  4,955.28  3,389.96  3,529.94  9,369.54
24  2,354.60  2,494.58  5,239.48  3,595.48  3,735.46  9,973.32
25  2,462.09  2,602.07  5,523.68  3,801.00  3,940.98  10,577.10

 

Each credit of tuition in the table includes mandatory fees:

  • $7.36 Comprehensive Fee
  • $3.90 Facilities
  • $3.90 Safety/Security Fee

Please note that all tuition and fee rates are set by the Washington State Legislature, the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges and the Board of Trustees and are subject to change. LWTech reserves the right to change, without notice, any fees to comply with the state or college regulation or policies.

The college may charge other fees to cover costs such as registration, late fees, insurance, supply, and lab fees. Please check the class schedule for lab and class supply fees that apply to specific classes.