LWTech Academic Honor Society


The LWTech Beta Iota Tau chapter of the national Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) academic honor society that recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students.

Our chapter provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Joining the Beta Iota Tau chapter of PTK allows students access to scholarships that may help them complete their educational goals.

Types of Membership

Quarterly, LWTech offers membership into the Beta Iota Tau chapter by emailing all eligible students that meet set criteria. The Society shall consist of active, provisional, alumni, and honorary members:

  • Active Members: An active member of Phi Theta Kappa shall be a student who has met the requirements for membership in an active chapter of the Society and been initiated into the Society.
  • Provisional Members: A provisional member of Phi Theta Kappa shall be a student who, in the opinion of the local chapter, has shown an active interest in the affairs of the Society and who serves the Society in some special capacity, but who does not meet the full requirements for active membership in the Society.
  • Alumni Members for graduates.
  • Honorary Members

Membership Eligibility

To be eligible for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, a student must:

  • Be enrolled in a two-year college;
  • Have accumulated the number of credit hours used by that college to designate full-time status;
  • Have a grade point average equivalent to not less than a 3.5 quarterly college level, grade point average.
  • Be of good moral character and shall possess recognized qualities of citizenship.

Chapter Requirements for Membership

Upon joining each member will provide the dues for the Society and a local chapter fee. Dues are a total of $65.00, paid once, for membership. Each local chapter shall have the prerogative of raising the academic standards required for membership, or of adhering to those set forth in Article IV, Section 2, of the Constitution of the Society.