Foundation Board of Directors

The LWTech Foundation Board of Directors, at Lake Washington Institute of Technology, is comprised of community and business leaders who volunteer their time to manage the activity of the LWTech Foundation in strict adherence to the Foundation's mission of actively engaging business and community to support LWTech, its students, and its role in building a strong economy.

2019 Board of Directors

  • Soloman Karmel, Branch manager, First Allied Securities, Inc. 
  • Shelli Dean, Community Leader
  • Bill Shelby, Community Leader
  • Brenda Nunes, Real Estate Professional and Managing Broker, Keller Williams Eastside
  • Kate Butcher, Community Leader
  • Michael Royston, Director, Boeing
  • Diane Toomey, Vice President of Human Resources at PAC Worldwide
  • Charlie Webster, President and General Manager at Synrad, a Novanta Company
  • Walt Krueger, Attorney
  • David Alskog, Attorney at Livengood Alskog
  • Kristen Overleese, President, KBA, Inc.
  • Kathy Katzenberger, Nurse at EvergreenHealth

Ex Officio Directors

The LWTech Foundation provides the college with resources needed to deliver educational success and a skilled workforce. It strives to meet the needs of students, business and industry. It also actively engages business and community support of the college, its students and its role in building a strong economy. The Foundation is the legal entity that works with the college to provide student grants and scholarships, promote health and wellness, and contribute to the high school academy at LWTech and Early Learning Center. Funds are raised through such activities as the Valentine's Day Wine Dinner, benefit breakfasts, endowment scholarships, and planned giving. It also manages the Distinguished Alumni Award, based on public nominations, to recognize LWTech alumni who have made notable achievement in her/his career, service to the community, and inspirational impact.