Lake Washington Institute of Technology Board of Trustees Award Tenure


Leslie ShattuckExecutive Director/Executive Communications Officer(425) 739-8236

KIRKLAND, Wash. โ€“ During their March business meeting, the Board of Trustees of Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech), awarded tenure to Dr. Gayle Shimokura and Melissa Hernandez (posthumously). Dr. Gayle Shimokura began at the college as a member of the LWTech Foundation team, and worked as an adjunct professor before becoming a full-time faculty member. She holds a PhD in Infectious Disease Epidemiology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, a Master of Science in Public Health, also from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Duke University.

Melissa Hernandez joined LWTech in July 2018 and started her full-time tenure track position in fall, 2019. She was a trained home-health nurse. She held an MSN degree and was pursuing her doctoral work in Nursing. Melissa had a passion for teaching and her students and colleagues loved working with her.

โ€œWe were so pleased the families of both Gayle and Melissa were on hand as the Trustees awarded tenure,โ€ said Dr. Amy Morrison, president of LWTech. โ€œGayle and Melissa significantly strengthened their programs through their work inside and outside of the classroom. Gayle continues to develop sustained long-lasting industry relationships, and both Gayle and Melissaโ€™s love of teaching continues to make a lasting difference in the lives of their students and colleagues. Iโ€™m so pleased that the Board of Trustees posthumously awarded tenure to Melissa. She was a dedicated instructor and role model and is sincerely missed by so many at LWTech.โ€

About Lake Washington Institute of Technology

Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech) was founded in 1949, and is the only public institute of technology in the state of Washington. LWTech offers 11 applied bachelor's degrees, 41 associate degrees, and 83 professional certificates in 41 areas of study, including STEM-focused programs in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.