Holiday and Observances Calendar

This calendar lists holidays, traditional observances, and major days of religious significance. Use these dates to aid in developing class syllabi and class quarter planning. Although many of these days are not college holidays, faculty are asked to use this information at their discretion when responding to student requests for time off for religious purposes. Please take special note of those holidays that have been designated non-work days by the religions that celebrate them.

Note:

  • All Jewish and Islamic holidays begin at sundown on the evening before the first date shown.
  • Some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar but based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

Celebrations, Holidays, and Observances 2021-2022

Holiday/Celebration Name Community Group Date
Independence Day United States

Sunday, July 4, 2021
Monday, July 5, 2021 (Observed)

Eid al-Adha Islamic Thursday, July 19, 2021 – Friday, July 20, 2021
Korean War Veteran's Armistice Day Military Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Purple Heart Recipient Recognition Day Military Saturday, August 7, 2021
Muharram (Al Hijrah New Year)
Islamic Thursday, August 19, 2021
Janmashtami Hindu Tuesday, August 30, 2021
     
Holiday/Celebration Community Group Date
Marcus Whitman Day Historical Figure Saturday, September 4, 2021
Rosh Hashana Jewish Monday, September 6, 2021
Labor Day Labor/Unions Monday, September 6, 2021
Yom Kippur Jewish Begins Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Ends Thursday, September 16, 2021
Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) Jewish Begins Monday, September 20, 2021,
Ends Monday, September 27, 2021
Public Lands Day Recreation Saturday, September 25, 2021
Shmini Atzeret Jewish Begins Monday, September 27, 2021
Ends Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Simchat Torah Jewish

Begins Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Ends Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Washington State Children's Day Parents Sunday, October 10, 2021
Navaratri/Dassehra Hindu Begins Saturday, October 7, 2021
Ends Monday, October 15, 2021
Indigenous People’s Day Indigenous Monday, October 11, 2021
Columbus Day Historical Figure Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Mawlid-al-Nabi (birthday of Mohammad) Islamic

Begins Monday, October 18, 2021
Ends Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Diwali Hindu

Thursday, November 4, 2021

Veteran’s Day United States Federal Holiday

Thursday, November 11, 2021

Thanksgiving American Thursday, November 25, 2021   
Hanukkah (Chanukah) Jewish

Begins Sunday, November 28, 2021
Ends Monday, December 6, 2021

 

Pearl Harbor Day Military Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Blood Donor Day Health Saturday, December 18, 2021
Christmas Christian Saturday, December 25
Holiday/Celebration Community Group Date
New Year’s Day United States Federal Holiday

Saturday, January 1, 2022

Orthodox Christmas Christian Orthodox

Friday, January 7, 2022

Human Trafficking Awareness Day Sexual Assualt

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Korean-American Day Korean Americans

Thursday, January 13, 2022

Martin Luther King Jr. Day  United States Holiday

Monday, January 17, 2022

Washington Army and Air National Guard Day Military

Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Lunar New Year  Asian Holiday

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

Civil Liberties Day of Remembrance Civics

Saturday, February 19, 2022

President’s Day United States Holiday

Monday, February 21, 2022

Maha Shivaratri Hindi

Tuesday, March 1, 2022

Lent Christian

Begins Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Ends Thursday, April 14, 2022

Ash Wednesday Christian

Wednesday, March 2, 2022

Purim Jewish

Begins Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Ends Thursday, March 17, 2022

Holi Hindi

Saturday, March 19, 2022

Viet Nam Veteran's Day Military

Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Cesar Chavex Day Civics/LatinX Heritage

Thursday, March 31, 2022

Holiday/Celebration Community Group Date
Prisoner of War Recognition Day Military
Saturday, April 9, 2022
Dolores Huerta Day Civics
Sunday, April 10, 2022
Passover (Pesach) Jewish
Begins Friday April, 15 2022
Ends Saturday April 23, 2022
Good Friday Christian
Friday, April 15, 2022
Mother Joseph Day Health
Saturday, April 16, 2022
Easter Christian
Sunday, April 17, 2022
Ram Navami Hindu
Sunday, April 10 , 2022
Orthodox Good Friday Christian Orthodox
Friday, April 22, 2022
Orthodox Easter Christian Orthodox
Sunday, April 24, 2022
Lailat Ul Qadr Muslim
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Shavuot Jewish
Begins Saturday, June 4, 2022
Ends Monday, June 6, 2022
Memorial Day U.S. Federal Holiday Monday, May 30, 2022
Juneteenth African American Sunday, June 19, 2022

Related Videos