Holiday and Observances Calendar

This calendar lists holidays, traditional observances, and major days of religious significance. Use these dates to aid in developing class syllabi and class quarter planning. Although many of these days are not college holidays, faculty are asked to use this information at their discretion when responding to student requests for time off for religious purposes. Please take special note of those holidays that have been designated non-work days by the religions that celebrate them.

Note:

  • All Jewish and Islamic holidays begin at sundown on the evening before the first date shown.
  • Some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar but based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

Celebrations, Holidays, and Observances 2020-2021

Holiday/Celebration Name Community Group Date
Eid al-Adha Islamic Thursday, July 30, 2020 – Friday, July 31, 2020
Janmashtami Hindu Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Muharram (Al Hijrah New Year) Islamic Thursday, August 20, 2020
Holiday/Celebration Community Group Date
Rosh Hashana Jewish Monday, September 7, 2020
Labor Day Labor/Unions Monday, September 7, 2020
Yom Kippur Jewish Monday, September 28, 2020
Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) Jewish Saturday, October 3, 2020  until  Friday, October 9, 2020
Shmini Atzeret Jewish Friday, October 9, ends Sunday, October 11, 2020
Simchat Torah Jewish

Saturday, October 10 until Sunday, October 11, 2020

Indigenous People’s Day Indigenous Monday, October 12, 2020
Navaratri/Dassehra Hindu Saturday October 17 until Monday October 26, 2020
Mawlid-al-Nabi (birthday of Mohammad) Islamic

Wednesday October 28 until Thursday October 29, 2020

Veteran’s Day United States Federal Holiday

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Diwali Hindu Saturday, November 14
Thanksgiving American Thursday, November 26   
Hanukkah (Chanukah) Jewish

Thursday December 10 until Friday December 18, 2020

 

Christmas Christian Friday, December 25
Holiday/Celebration Community Group Date
New Year’s Day United States Federal Holiday

Friday, January 1, 2021

Orthodox Christmas Christian Orthodox

Thursday, January 7, 2021

Martin Luther King Jr. Day  United States Holiday

Monday, January 18, 2021

Lunar New Year  Asian Holiday

Tuesday, February 1, 2021

President’s Day United States Holiday

Monday, February 15, 2021

Maha Shivaratri  

Monday, February 28, 2021

Beginning of Lent Christian

Wednesday, February 17 to Saturday, April 3, 2021

Ash Wednesday Christian

Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Purim Jewish

Thursday, February 25 to 26, 2021

Holi Hindi

Monday, March 29, 2021

Holiday/Celebration Community Group Date
Passover (Pesach) Jewish
Saturday, March 27, 2021 to Sunday, April 4. 2021
Good Friday Christian
Friday, April 2, 2021
Easter Christian
Sunday, April 4, 2021
Ram Navami Hindu
Wednesday, April 21 , 2021
Orthodox Good Friday Christian Orthodox
Friday, April 20, 2021
Orthodox Easter Christian Orthodox
Sunday, May 2, 2021
Lailat Ul Qadr Muslim
Sunday, May 8, 2021
Shavuot Jewish
Sunday, May 16 to 18, 2021
Memorial Day U.S. Federal Holiday Monday, May 31, 2021
Juneteenth African American Saturday, June 19, 2021

Related Videos