Lake Washington Institute of Technology Board of Trustees Award Tenure to Four Faculty Members


Leslie ShattuckDirector, Communications & Marketing(425) 739-8236

Kirkland, Wash. – The Board of Trustees of Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech), have awarded tenure to four faculty members: Greg Bem, Rex Rempel, Steven Weaver, and Dr. Andrea Westman.

Bem is an Associate Professor of the Library and holds a Master of Library Science from the University of Washington. Rempel teaches Behavioral and Social Services and holds a Master of Social Work from the University of Washington. Weaver teaches Machining Technology and holds a Bachelor of Applied Science in Professional Technical Education & Instructional Design from South Seattle College. Dr. Westman teaches in the Physical Therapist Assistant program and holds a Doctorate of Physical Therapy Assistant from Regis University. The LWTech Board of Trustees awarded tenure to the faculty members at their meeting on March 11, 2019.

"Our tenured professors have demonstrated their dedication to student success by completing a comprehensive and rigorous three-year process. They have strengthened their programs and developed and sustained long-lasting industry relationships. They personify what it means to truly make a difference in the lives of our students,” said Dr. Amy Morrison, president of LWTech.

About Lake Washington Institute of Technology

As the only public institute of technology in Washington state, Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech) a provides students with the latest cutting edge skills relevant to today’s workplace. LWTech offers eight applied bachelor’s degrees, more than 40 associate degrees, and more than 91 professional certificates in 42 areas of study, including STEM-focused programs in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.