Lake Washington Institute of Technology Board of Trustees Grant Tenure to Four Faculty Members


Leslie ShattuckExecutive Director/Executive Communications Officer(425) 739-8236

Kirkland, Wash. – Yesterday the Board of Trustees of Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech), the only public institute of technology in Washington state, granted tenure to three faculty members: Thomas Abbott, Elisa Parrett and Benjamin A. Meyer. The Trustees held a special meeting in March to award tenure to Catherine England.

Abbott teaches Computing and Software Development and holds a Master of Science in Computer Science from the University of Washington. Parrett teaches English and holds a Master of Arts in English from California State University Sacramento, Meyer teaches Design and holds a Master of Fine Arts in Graphic Design from Iowa State University, and England taught Basic Education for Adults and held a Master of Education in Adult Education and Training from Seattle University.

Tenure-track faculty are highly skilled educators, current in their fields, innovative leaders in their programs and the college, and worthy ambassadors to industry and our community at large. Only a peer-driven process like this one can ensure that the award of tenure shall signify the achievement of excellence.

“These candidates have shown much dedication to student success throughout their careers. They each have helped countless students grasp their full potential and have dedicated themselves to advancing and innovating their departments by developing quality industry relationships. These faculty embody LWTech values and truly make a positive difference in the lives of our students,” said Dr. Amy Morrison, president of LWTech.

About Lake Washington Institute of Technology

Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech) was founded in 1949, and is the only public institute of technology in the state of Washington. LWTech offers 11 applied bachelor's degrees, 41 associate degrees, and 83 professional certificates in 41 areas of study, including STEM-focused programs in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.